

Dear Governor Bill Lee, Lieutenant Governor Randy McNally, Speaker Cameron Sexton and members of the Tennessee General Assembly,

As leaders in education from across Tennessee, we urge you, our elected leaders, to take steps that will help protect both our children and the rights afforded to all Americans by the Second Amendment. United, we support a reasonable response to the violence in our state; guns are now the first leading cause of death of children in Tennessee.

Specifically, we ask legislators to take these steps during the 2023 legislative session to keep guns away from those who are a risk to themselves or others:

- 1. Allow authorities to temporarily remove guns from those who pose a risk to themselves or others by implementing Extreme Risk Protection legislation.
- 2. Adopt additional measures to keep guns away from dangerous people by requiring background checks on all purchases and closing the background check loophole on unlicensed sellers.
- 3. Stop firearms from falling into the wrong hands by requiring gun owners to provide safe storage and report lost and stolen guns.

Governor Lee's commitment to improving school infrastructure safety and access t mental health resources are steps in the right direction. We believe more must be done in order to protect our children and educators inside their classrooms and on their campuses. In the last three mass shootings in Nashville, there was knowledge of the assailant's threat to themselves and others prior to their crime. Taking the above steps this legislative session, will help to prevent tragedies like this from happening in the future while also protecting the right to bear arms. Offering our collective public support will help us all do the next right thing as we heal together. Together, we can build a safer Tennessee.

We stand with other Education Leaders for a Safer Tennessee.

Respectfully,





Brooke Allen Executive Director Diverse Learners Cooperative Davidson County

Elizabeth Ayton Director Belmont Weekday School Davidson County

Chris Barbic Board Chair TN Charter School Center Davidson County

Jill Black Board Member Hamilton County School Board Hamilton County

Erin O'Hara Block Board Member MNPS Board of Education Davidson County

Darrell Cobbins Vice Chair (2017 - 2023) Tennessee State Board of Education Shelby County

Kathy Conlin Head of School Cool Springs Montessori Williamson County

Sean Corcoran Head of School Brainerd Baptist School Hamilton County

Katie Cour President and CEO Nashville Public Education Foundation Davidson County

Nick Darnell Member (2018 - 2023) Tennessee State Board of Education Hamblen County

Paul Davis President Father Ryan High School Davidson County

Todd Dickson Founder & CEO Valor Collegiate Academies Davidson County

Rodger Dinwiddie CEO STARS Nashville Davidson County Randy Dowell Founder & Executive Director KIPP Nashville Davidson County

Bob Eby Chair (2018 - current) TN State Board of Education Oak Ridge, TN

Rachael Anne Elrod Board Chair MNPS Board of Education Davidson County

Charlie Friedman Founder & Executive Director Nashville Classical Charter Schools Davidson County

Sarah Giblin Chief of Schools Valor Collegiate Academies Davidson County

Brad Gioia Headmaster Montgomery Bell Academy Davidson County

Lillian Hartgrove Chair Emeritus (2014 - current) TN State Board of Education Putnam County

Cameron Hill Board Member Tennessee Interscholastic Athletic Administrators Association (TIAAA) Davidson

Jess Hill Head of School Harpeth Hall Davidson County

Daniel Hoffman & Alene Arnold Co-Heads of School Jewish Middle School of Nashville Davidson County

Ryan Holt Member (2022 - current) TN State Board of Education Davidson County

Kevin Huffman CEO, Accelerate and Former Commissioner, Tennessee Department of Education Davidson County

Larry Jensen
Member (2019 - current)
TN State Board of Education
Shelby County

Karitsa M. Jones Board Member Hamilton County School Board Hamilton County

James Jordan Head of School Episcopal School of Nashville Davidson County

Jim Leckrone Founder & School Director East End Preparatory School Davidson County

Logan Lyman Director Westminster School for Young Children Davidson County

Robert McGehee Head of School St. Nicholas School Hamilton County

Rhonda L. McKay Executive Director Children's House of Nashville Davidson County

Jeffery L. Mitchell, Ph.D. Head of School Currey Ingram Academy Williamson County

Natalie Morosi Founder & Executive Director Aventura Community School Davidson County

Will Norton Head of School St. Paul Christian Academy Davidson County

Freda Player Vice Chair MNPS Board of Education Davidson County

Daniella Pressner Head of School Akiva School Davidson County

Gini Pupo-Walker Executive Director The Education Trust - Tennessee Davidson County

Amani Reed Director University School of Nashville Nashville, TN



Kimberly Richardson Head of School Linden Waldorf School Davidson County

Kate Riley Head of School Holy Trinity Montessori Davidson County

Kristen Ring President & Head of School Hutchison School Shelby County

Tiffanie Robinson Board Chair Hamilton County School Board Hamilton County

Abigail Rockey CEO Intrepid College Prep Davidson County

Hart Roper Head of School Oak Hill School Davidson County

Tara Scarlett
President & CEO
Scarlett Family Foundation
Middle Tennessee

Gary Shorb Executive Director Urban Child Institute Shelby County

David Skeen Head of School Harding Academy Davidson County

Teresa Sloyan President Hyde Family Foundation Memphis, TN Mary K. Smith Director Nature's Way Montessori School Knoxville TN

Prentice Stabler Head of School Ensworth School Davidson County

Albert L. Throckmorton Head of School St. Mary's Episcopal School Shelby County

Leigh Toomey Head of School St. Bernard Academy Davidson County

Wendy Tucker Commissioner, TN Public Charter Schools Commission Former board member, TN State Board of Education (2014-2019) Williamson County

Abigail Tylor Board Member MNPS Board of Education Davidson County

Roblin Webb Founder & CEO Freedom Prep Charter Schools Shelby County

Jacqueline Wolfe Interim Head of School Montessori Academy Brentwood Davidson County

Jaime Yeager Head of School, Amare Montessori and Executive Director, Montessori Alliance of Tennessee Montgomery County Dr. Maya Bugg President & CEO TN Charter Center Davidson County

Indira Dammu Education Advisor to former Mayor Briley Davidson County

Cameron Gish Executive Principal Explore! Community School Davidson County

Terry L. Morris Executive Director Ironwood Academy Williamson County

Dr. R. Kirk Walker, Jr. Former Headmaster McCallie School Hamilton County

